Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jrgardner

winter veg - zone 8b gulf coast Florida

jrgardner
15 years ago

I'm fairly new at veg gardening and have not planted any fall/winter veg before. I've been reading that it's time to start planting fall/winter veg. But for my zone (8b) it seems early. It's so hot out and it's raining every day (1" plus). For those in my general area, what's your typical planting time and what do you plant?

Many thanks!

JR

Comments (11)

• grandad_2003
    15 years ago

JR, my guess is that you are in the same planing are as me. If so, you may want to check out the recent GW post "Fall Planting for Kids" because the comments there will apply to you. Also, after looking at the Florida Vegetable Planting Guide below, it seems to be very close to what I would follow.... in which case you would be a very slight bit early.... but come August, the planting begins.

Here is a link that might be useful: Florida Vegetable Planting Guide

• grandad_2003
    15 years ago

"planting area" not "planing are"

• angelady777 (Angela) - Zone 6
    15 years ago

So, does that mean we should plant indoors as we would in the spring a bit early or just plant directly in the garden? I, too, am very concerned about how much the high heat here could kill my little plants.

~Angela

• grandad_2003
    15 years ago

Angela, I'm assuming you are asking about the broccoli and cauliflower seed planting. If so, I plant these outside but they are in seed boxes under the overhang of the roof. They receive afternoon sun for about 4 hrs. They do get a bit droopy at times in the intense heat but they seem to survive nonetheless. I have not tried planting them inside so I don't know if that would be better or not.