Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kmigs26

Is the zucchini ready to be picked?

kmigs26
9 years ago

This is my first time growing zucchini. I am kind of confused by the whole process. I am pretty sure that there were no male flowers around when this zucchini started to grow, so I don't know how it got pollinated. Is it possible that it didn't and it still grew? Is the fruit still edible? Or did it have to get pollinated to get to this stage? Also...is it ready for me to pick it? Its shape is kind of funny. Lastly, some of the leaves of my plant are turning yellow. I am assuming its lack of nutrition so I fertilized. Should I do anything else?

Thank you in advanced!!!
Kelly

Comments (24)

• farmerdill
    9 years ago

Past ready. Pick these when they are small. One this size could be used for zucchini bread, but will not be good many uses. This illustrates about the maximum size you want them. {{gwi:68683}}

• kmigs26
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you! About how long and fat should they be? Measurement wise? This one was pretty small when it started getting "fat". Should I pick before it starts growing width wise?

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

It's strange shape is due to inconsistent watering. Heavy rains or watering causes the swelling. Even out your soil moisture levels and you will get straight ones.As in the pic farmerdill posted that is about as big as you want them.

There is no set "measurement". Best approximation is 1 1/2-2" in diameter and 6-8" long. But they can be picked and eaten at any stage of development. It all depends on how you plan to use them.

Note the size they sell in the grocery store for an idea.

Dave

• kmigs26
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Okay. Thank you! That makes sense...we've had extreme weather lately. Looks like I will be baking today.

• Edie
    9 years ago