Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Pepper and Eggplant with yellowing/singed leaves

Posted by fallofrain (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 12, 09 at 13:34

I have started a container garden for the first time this year on my deck (Im completely new to gardening) and have had some problems with a hot banana pepper and eggplants.
The bananna pepper is flowering setting fruit (two very small ones for now) but its leaves look yellow and compared to my other pepper plant looks weak.
I also have another pepper plant that seems like its doing ok. Both have been treated the same. Ive had some flower/fruit drop on both peppers, more on the non-banana pepper (but I think thats because that plan has had so many flowers). When they drop it usually looks like something cut their stems.

The eggplant hasnt flowered yet and its still a bit small (I planted it about a month ago) but its lowest leaves are yellow and the middle leaves are yellow around the edges and look singed. The upper leaves and new growth look fine for now.

As far as potting soil I know a lot more now and would not repeat this but I used aproximately half miracle grow potting soil/half a planting mix that had much lower fertilizer (something like 5/4/3) in an attempt to cut the miracle grow (I know better now but there isnt a good variety of soils in my area). I also added about of the ozmocote time release (14.14.14) recommended and some bone meal and a little bit of sulfer below the seedlings for the peppers. The eggplant got everything but the bone meal and sulfur.

Ive only watered the eggplant and peppers a few times this year beause of all the rain and do let them dry out before I do ( I stick my finger down into the soil to make sure its dry, with no rain its about once a week but usually it rains before I need to water). Twice Ive watered with diluted liquid seaweed. I also sprayed them with a diluted epsom salt foliar spray once a couple weeks ago.