Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kathy9norcal

Bitter cucumbers--ugh

kathy9norcal
9 years ago

It is my first year growing them. I have a great spot which gives them full sun. I got the plants at the nursery--they were called Persian cucumbers. I had hoped they would be like the ones at the fruit stand, about 6 inches, matte skin, not bitter at all.

Unfortunately, these are shiny skinned. I have been trying to pick them small, about 6--7 inches. Even when totally peeled, they are bitter. I can't stand the taste. Also, they don't have that classic cucumber taste. Never did.

These 3 plants are so happy and healthy. I hate to rip them out. Anything I can do to prevent this or to get the bitterness out of the existing cukes? I have about 10 sitting in my dish drain just washed.
I read that it may be too much heat and yes, we have been in the high 90's and even 100's some days. Nothing I can do about that!

Anyone know the name for the kind of cucumbers that are picked small and have matte, sweet skin? I thought they were Persians but I guess not so. Any varieties that don't get bitter?

Any help would be appreciated!

Comments (13)

• ju1234
    9 years ago

Persian are excellent. You can eat them with the skin. Bitterness usually is due to lack of water. Just water the plants regularly and enough. They will sweeten up.

• kathy9norcal
    Original Author
    9 years ago

ju1234, these are not the same Persians I buy at the farm stand! You cannot eat them at all right now even peeled. I do not think they are water starved. The ground is always damp.

I even tried soaking them in a salt water solution and they are more bitter than ever. It just figures that these vines look perfect and are producing so well (inedible cukes!)

• squishsquash
    9 years ago

My first cucumber was bitter. I ate it right off the vine, still warm. After that one, I stuck them in the fridge and they are much better cold. Did you try letting them cool in the fridge?

• squishsquash