Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vacantenigma

What is wrong with my potatoes?

vacantenigma
10 years ago

Hello. It's my first time growing potatoes, specifically Red Norland, and I have them in a canvas-y container I had picked up years ago someplace. They were growing fine, like crazy, and now the leaves are yellowing, spotted, and something is eating them. Tried to do some research online, and it appeared to be a magnesium problem so I watered them with epsom salts, with no results. It also was maybe nitrogen, so all I had with nitrogen was regular Miracle Grow so I tried that, no result. I had an organic fungicide so I sprayed them with that. I sprinkled egg shells around for the fun of it. They look worse than ever. The only bugs I can see on them are ants, so I don't know what could be eating the leaves.

{{gwi:88464}}

{{gwi:88465}}

{{gwi:88466}}

{{gwi:88467}}

{{gwi:88468}}

What can I do to fix them? Or do I not need to and the potatoes will be fine? The funny thing, to me, is the container has a divider down the middle. The one side started with the yellowing long before the other. I don't know what that might mean, just seemed odd to me.

Thanks,
Sara

Comments (23)

• Persimmons
    10 years ago

Bacterial spot/speck? That's what my tomatoes had earlier in the summer and it looks exactly the same as what's attacked your potatoes.

Do the really infected leaves seem to simply fall off the plant?

• AiliDeSpain
    10 years ago

Ants love potato plants for some reason, I discovered that when harvesting my new potatoes.

From the photos it looks as if it may be blight, I am no expert but google potato blight and compare photos.

• pnbrown
    10 years ago

When did you plant? Potato vines wither naturally about 3 months after they come up, less time in hot dry conditions and a longer time in a cool moist climate.

• edweather USDA 9a, HZ 9, Sunset 28
    10 years ago