Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
best place to cure garlic?

Posted by michelelc 6B, MA (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 22, 12 at 15:34

This is my first year growing garlic. It's ready to pick, and I'm wondering what the best place is to cure it? I don't have any outside area that does not get some sun (no garage or shed). I have a dehumidifier in my basement (which I keep at 65%), and was planning on curing the garlic down there, but the temps hover in the low 70's. Is that too cold? My other choice would be my attic guest bedroom, which stays very warm. I'm not thrilled with curing my garlic up there, because I do occasionally have guests, but would do it if it was a better choice. Any advice?

Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: best place to cure garlic?

Your garlic needs to be harvested now. It is recommended that you do so when about half of the leaves have turned brown. Leaving the garlic in the ground does not destroy it, but will reduce its keeping quality.

Of the options you mentioned I, personally, would choose the basement. It will take a little longer because it is cooler, but the dehumidifier should help.

o

The upstairs guest bedroom! That is where I cure mine. I even had guests, but the kids thought it was cool being in a garlic forest (they are garden-friendly kids). I put hooks into the wall studs and this year bought heavy-duty rope that supports 130lbs. If you are stringing the garlic to hang it, make sure the twine/rope/hooks are STRONG. The first year, I strung them in the living room. The cat and I will never forget when the string broke and dropped all the garlic on our heads.

I will second that your garlic is being harvested a little too late. It will be fine for eating, but may not store as well. Separate the stalks with mostly brown leaves from the ones with 3 green leaves - eat the brown ones first.

Enjoy your garlic,
Bellatrix

o