Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
When to harvest a Sugar Baby Watermelon?

Posted by growingup 8a tucson, az (My Page) on
Sat, Jul 21, 07 at 15:41

I know they aren't supposed to get too big, but I was wondering when they should be harvested? My first is about the size of a soft ball.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: When to harvest a Sugar Baby Watermelon?

Best not to judge by size, watermelons are pretty universal with few exceptions.

Refer to this thread to determine when watermelon is ripe...

Here is a link that might be useful: Blacktail Mountain Watermelon, ripe?

o

Yes there was just a big thread on when to predict the ripeness of them by the tendril. It is the one the pp posted. It was very helpful , as this is my first year growing watermelons. I cant wait for mine to get ripe....

Kristen

o

I have Sugar Babies right now, and there is one that looks ripe. It is about the size of a soft ball. Most watermelons have a spot that turns from white to yellow on the bottom where the melon sits on the ground. However, the melon that I am referring to has a bright yellow spot, and I think it is ready. I just want someone who seems to know what they are talking about to answer my inquiry. The overall color of the melon has changed to dark green. I am told that Sugar Babies do that when they are ripe, but the tendril does not look ready. What should I do? My plan is to wait a few more days. Is that a good plan?

o

my sugar baby watermelon is about the size of a softball and its yellow on the bottom but i don't know if i can pick it because the thred is not dried uo

o