Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Huge cuke leaves

Posted by mommomsgarden New Jersey (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 2, 13 at 15:56

Are these cucumbers supposed to be this big?! The ones that are climbing are huge. The ones that are crawling on the bed are not as big. No cukes yet. What do they look like when they first show signs? Anyone have a picture

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Huge cuke leaves

Here's another shot

o

They look GREAT! Nice and healthy and thriving. Your flowers are probably mostly male but soon the female flowers will come and you will be enjoying fresh cucumbers.

o

How do you distinguish between the two? How does that work? (I'm a beginner! ) thanks!

o

• Posted by lelia Northern Cal (My Page) on
    Tue, Jul 2, 13 at 18:59

Here are my Parisian Pickling cucumber leaves. They're big, but not as big as squash leaves. Female flowers, by the way, have a tiny cucumber behind them which falls off if not pollinated.

Parisian Pickling Cucumber photo photo_zps52476b63.jpg

o

Look closely. The male flowers usually start off first and behind the flower is nothing but a straight stem. The female flowers have a very mini, mini starting cucumber directly in back of the flowers. Bees come and carry the pollen from the male flowers to the female blooms and the flowers get pollinated. Then those cucumbers begin to grow.

o

Ohhh right yes I've seen those little guys! You can see one in this picture

o

Little gals, actually. :)

o

Right! So those aren't the cucumbers? Where will the cucumbers start growing from?

o

Those are the cucumbers. When they get pollinated they will grow larger but if they don't get pollinated they will shrivel and fall off.

Rodney

o

Is it hard to actually pollinate? Is it rare or do they tend to do it pretty often? What's the best way to prepare them for success?

o