Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mommomsgarden

Huge cuke leaves

mommomsgarden
10 years ago

Are these cucumbers supposed to be this big?! The ones that are climbing are huge. The ones that are crawling on the bed are not as big. No cukes yet. What do they look like when they first show signs? Anyone have a picture

Comments (16)

• mommomsgarden
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here's another shot

• newyorkrita
    10 years ago

They look GREAT! Nice and healthy and thriving. Your flowers are probably mostly male but soon the female flowers will come and you will be enjoying fresh cucumbers.

• mommomsgarden
    Original Author
    10 years ago

How do you distinguish between the two? How does that work? (I'm a beginner! ) thanks!

• lelia
    10 years ago

Here are my Parisian Pickling cucumber leaves. They're big, but not as big as squash leaves. Female flowers, by the way, have a tiny cucumber behind them which falls off if not pollinated.

{{gwi:90480}}

• newyorkrita
    10 years ago

Look closely. The male flowers usually start off first and behind the flower is nothing but a straight stem. The female flowers have a very mini, mini starting cucumber directly in back of the flowers. Bees come and carry the pollen from the male flowers to the female blooms and the flowers get pollinated. Then those cucumbers begin to grow.

• mommomsgarden
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Ohhh right yes I've seen those little guys! You can see one in this picture

• Anne Wolfley
    10 years ago

Little gals, actually. :)

• mommomsgarden
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Right! So those aren't the cucumbers? Where will the cucumbers start growing from?

• theforgottenone1013 (SE MI zone 5b/6a)
    10 years ago

Those are the cucumbers. When they get pollinated they will grow larger but if they don't get pollinated they will shrivel and fall off.

Rodney

• mommomsgarden
    Original Author
    10 years ago