Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rguntle_gw

Fall Vegetable Garden

rguntle
13 years ago

I have juast moved here to Augusta from Fort Lwis WA. I have never started a Vegetable garden before but, it looks like fun. I would like to start a fall garden with broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, and peas. I am not sure what I am doing. do I sow the seeds in the garden out side or do I start them in the house? What is the best way to start them in the house? Please help

Comments (8)

• hoodat
    13 years ago

Your problem in starting them in the ground in that area may be heat. Have plenty of mulch on the ground to keep it cool and moist and then work a hole in the mulch where they will be seeded. Keep an eye on them for insects. There are still plenty of them around this time of year.

• caroliniannjer
    13 years ago

I'm new in Columbia SC--a very similar situation

I just sewed seeds for broccoli, brussels sprouts, collard greens & some more bush beans
    Between now & mid-August (according to the timetables on the Clemson extension site) is when we're supposed to be setting out *plants* ...so we'll see how that turns out

I've had no problems starting crops in the heat, but we've been seeing blossom drop, end rot & other fruiting problems once the temps get up near 100

I think that it's way too early for peas, but beans have been working for me

You should see if you can find an extension site for your area like the Clemson site I've given below

Here is a link that might be useful: Clemson--Vegetable Crops

• twc015
    13 years ago

You should be able to direct sow broccoli and cauliflower in the ground. These can tolerate the high soil temperature during germination.

I would wait on the carrots and peas, especially peas. Peas need the cool weather. Carrots may have germination problems, but the foliage can tolerate the high temperatures well.