Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
loveveg

Please HELP! Little gem lettuce...

loveVeg
9 years ago

Hi everyone! I hope someone could answer me please. I am a bit frustrated now... I am a newbie gardener and this is my first time growing lettuce. I planted some little gem lettuce from seed and they became 8 inch tall now but I found that there are a lot of big flat dark green leaves which doesn't look like those I bought from market. If I kept cutting/harvesting, I would fine few leaves which look like those market bought one (long and crisp)... What should I do? Can I eat the big flat green leaves? How can I get more long crisp leaves? I accidentally put too much seeds and now it's full of these big flat leaves which I dunno what to do... I don't even know how to cut them. I just cut one leaf at a time which wasted me an hour to cut few leaves... Please help... Millions thanks!!!!

Comments (7)

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

Far too late for most lettuces in most of the country. They are cool weather crops that bolt and turn bitter when exposed to summer heat. That may well be the problem you are seeing. So where are you located?

If you are in the far north where it is still cool then another possible explanation is that they are planted too closely to form heads. Proper spacing is required for head formation so you may need to heavily thin the patch out.

Dave

• loveVeg
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks Dave! I am in the south west of the uk. It's been hot few weeks ago... I didn't see they bolt but as you suggested, I planted very closely... Will they develop into head after I thin them out then? What about those big flat green leaves? Should I remove them? Are those edible?

Thank you very much!

• ltilton
    9 years ago

A photo would help.

Little gem is a head lettuce, not really meant to be harvested leaf by leaf. Head lettuces need space to head out. Little gem should have 6 inches between heads.