Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aron1_gw

How to convert this mess into a garden?

aron1
10 years ago

So it's mid-summer.. just moved into a house this spring.. the previous owners had an area they used as a garden but it doesn't look like it had been used for several years. Its overgrown with weeds and grass. Earlier in the year I had been dumping some grass clippings in there (got a mulching blade now so no more clippings)..

Anyways how do I clean this up in prep for a garden? I'd probably like to avoid chemicals as much as possible. Do I mow over the whole thing? try to pull as much out by hand first? and then dig up the sod? i could completely remove the layer of grass.. Also is this area too wide? it's a 9'x9' square and from what I've seen, longer, narrower areas are the way to go.

Also, will it be possible to plant some items now to harvest this fall? I'm new to gardening so this will be my first dabblings in it. I'd like to grow tomatoes, peppers & some herbs to start.

Thanks

Comments (13)

• uscjusto
    10 years ago

If you want to have a fall garden, you definitely have to remove all that grass. You can save it for mulch later.

Till, then amend the soil with organic matter like compost.

9'x9' is tough because you'll have to step on parts of the garden which compact the soil. Maybe split it up into 2 plots of 4'x9' with a 1' walkway in the middle??

• aron1
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks I like the idea of having a path in the middle. When you say remove the grass, you mean like dig down 2-3" and completely remove the layer of sod, (and weeds, roots, etc) right?

• ericengelmann
    10 years ago