Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
andy32844

sweet corn opinion

andy32844
10 years ago

This is my first time growing sweet corn and I feel like the cold wet weather early in the season here in the thumb of Michigan wasted my sweet corn. I feel like they should be taller and greener for this time of year than they are. Any opinions on what I can do.

Comments (13)

• andy32844
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Seems unhealthy even tho I've fertilized it with nitrogen.

• andy32844
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Should they have tassles growing already?

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    10 years ago

They do have tassels. That's the flower on top. Whatever fertilizer you applied wasn't nearly enough. The light green color and small size are indicative of inadequate nitrogen and possibly other nutrients.

• andy32844
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Is it too late to save these plants?

• ltilton
    10 years ago

Try a liquid fertilizer, something with fast takeup.

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    10 years ago

Yes it's too late for this crop. Once they tassel they're about done expanding their leaves. It takes lots of big leaves to make a big ear. You don't have that and won't this time. Better luck next year.

• avocado101
    10 years ago

Your spacing seems far. How far are they planted? I usually plant them 10 to 12 inches apart, rows at 18 inches to 24. I think it's easier to fertilize when they are planted closely.

Also I found them to grow best when sown directly in ground.

• wayne_5 zone 6a Central Indiana
    10 years ago

I agree with Avocado...although my rows are about 28 inches apart...I have plenty of room.

Andy, if your garden is subject to flooding, you could do what I have done. Ridge the rows up pretty good in the fall in preparation for the next years planting.