Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lonmower

Onions...what happened here?

lonmower
10 years ago

I have been gardening for (only) 7 years and have had successful onion crops. These were Sterling seedlings from Dixondale. The weather here has been unseasonably dry and (earlier) hot but I tried to keep the onions evenly watered. I have four other varieties this year without this problem.

What is this?

I am also posting this on the Allum Forum. Thanks!

{{gwi:92258}}

{{gwi:92259}}

Here is a link that might be useful: photo's

This post was edited by lonmower on Sun, Jul 7, 13 at 19:19

Comments (12)

• farmerdill
    10 years ago

I have no idea. Have not seen anything like it. Never grew Sterling, but it is reported as growing a uniform globe shaped bulb.

• User
    10 years ago

Maybe Dixondale would know.

They look like cabbages split from too much water - but you say it's been dry.

• sunnibel7 Md 7
    10 years ago

Now that's strange. I assume the seedlings looked normal when you transplanted them. The tops look normal above ground? For some reason those plants generated two basal plates for the roots to grow out of, but I suppose the question is was the cause physical, chemical, or genetic? I suppose you should probably forward the question to Dixondale.

• lonmower
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I just sent an email to Dixondale. The seedlings looked normal when I planted them in late March. I would say that about 1/4th of the Sterlings are in this shape and were sent to the compost pile. The tops were slightly stunted. I try to grow organic, so there were no chemicals added. I have raised beds and rotate crops so there have not been onions in this bed for at least 3 years. This may be or not a clue...they were grown in the same bed next to garlic. I had a nice garlic crop this year, but a few heads that were near these Sterlings were mush. I don't think that overwatering is the case because the beds drain well and we are in a relative drought.