Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hostaholic2

Flat leaf parsley blooming

Hoping someone can shed some light on this for me. I started seed in March and planted the plants out in the garden in May. Of my 10 plants, 5 of them are trying to send up a flower stalk. I've been cutting them off. I know parsley is a biennial and will bloom the 2nd year, but these are first year plants. Plants very rarely survive my zone 4 winters. Anyone know what is causing this to happen and what, if anything, I can do to prevent it? I've been planting flat leaf parsley for about 8 years and this is the first I've had this happen. The plants are getting regular deep watering. Thanks for any thoughts. Joyce

Comments (8)

• holly-2006
    15 years ago

I'll only grow the curly parsley. Man, I love that stuff! Parsley Pesto is to die for!

Unfortunately for my plants, they'll never know what "biennial" really means.

Sniff.

• hostaholic2 z 4, MN
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I do harvest from the outside of the plant, I'm just trying to figure out why it's trying to set seed it's first year. This has never happened before. Thanks for your responses.

• cbs_z5_ny
    15 years ago

Did you direct seed the parsley or transplant? I start mine from seed and transplant, but find that if I let the transplants get too big before putting the ground, they are more likely to bolt the first year. This year I put some out early (when first true leaf appeared) and some out later. About 1/3 of the later ones are now going to seed, while none of the earlier ones are.

-Caroline

• aulani
    15 years ago

holly, I like parsley pesto too, but I use the Italian parsley. I grow the curley as border around a few flower beds, mostly to keep the swallowtail butterflies happy. They love that stuff. Kansas is a flight path for monarchs and swallowtails so I like to provide what I can to give them energy.