Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
White stuff on Zucchini Leaves

Posted by marythompson Northern VA (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 30, 09 at 19:20

I'm a beginner suburban gardener with a small patch of tomatoes and zucchini in my backyard. I'm also a relatively new member of GardenWeb and this is my first posting to the forum.

I've had this white stuff appearing on the leaves of my zucchini plants. The zucchini's themselves seem fine, and the leaves don't seem to be harmed by it either. I didn't notice anything on the stalks or flowers. The white stuff is on a lot of the leaves but not all. It looks as if the plants are dusted with powder.

You can see 2 pictures here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/wildmary63/

Anyone know what this is? Should I be worried about it? What should I do about it?

A lot of people around here have had tomato blight, but my tomatoes are fine. This is only on the zucchini which I started indoors from seeds myself.

Thanks for any help you can offer,
Mary.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: White stuff on Zucchini Leaves

Looks like it might be powdery mildew. You can spray it with a milk-water concoction to get rid of it.

o

Very cool. Thanks for the tip. I found info about using milk and water at the site below. I'll let you know how it goes.

Mary.

Here is a link that might be useful: Milk and Water Mixture Article

o

I sprayed the milk/water mix on the leaves this afternoon. I'll post again in a few days after I see any results.

Thanks again,
Mary.

o

Good link there, Mary. I use a solution of milk, baking soda, and a squirt of soap mixed in a hose end sprayer. I found some articles on just milk and water (like the one you posted), and some that said the use baking soda and soap. I figured I would try all of them together. It seems to work pretty good so far.