Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kentstar_gw

About to give up on my sprouts!

kentstar
10 years ago

This is my first time trying to grow brussel sprouts and some broccoli.
The seedlings were planted in late March. They did great until the slugs, and especially the cabbage worms started devouring them lately. Now, the leaves are starting to get full of holes. Bummer...

I hate them, I hate them!

Ok had to rant.

Any chance they can still produce?

Comments (16)

• kathyb912_in (5a/5b, Central IN)
    10 years ago

I can't answer whether they'll still produce -- how far eaten are they? I'd think they'd be big enough after three months of growth to come back if they aren't too far gone -- but I put down Sluggo around my cabbage, sprouts, and broccoli this spring (actually the Natria brand "Snail & Slug Killer Bait" which is what's available at my local HD) and had really good results. I think I must have gotten them all because I haven't reapplied in several weeks and I haven't had further damage. I keep watching, though, and I'll add more if I start seeing slug damage again.

BTW, you should start new broccoli seeds now for a fall crop. My spring plants are still producing a few side shoots but they'll be coming out soon to make way for the fall crop, which I'll transplant around August 1.

• kentstar
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Side shoots? I haven't seen but a one broccoli head on the top of each. Yikes lol. I did and have been putting down Sluggo for the slugs but that doesn't seem to stop the cabbage worms lol! I have been trying to use DE for them but it doesn't work that great and has to be reapplied after rain or watering ( which we've been getting a lot of!) I'll just keep my toes crossed that I get something out of this effort

btw, my broccoli and brussel sprouts are about 3 ft tall now with huge leaves. I'll try to post a pic in a little while.

• woohooman San Diego CA zone 10a
    10 years ago