Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lilyd74

When do female squash flowers open?

I am considering hand pollination for the first time this year, because I am losing a lot of fruit due to under-pollination by natural pollinators, a first for me. I'm going to have to plant a more pollinator friendly garden next year. Meanwhile for this year, I've been going out at midday on the weekends, early in the mornings, late in the evening, and I've yet to see the female flowers open on any of my breeds of summer squash. This year I'm growing tromboncino, crookneck, and grey zucchini, and I haven't seen the female flower open on any of them. Males I've seen open, but not females. I do have female flowers, I just haven't seen them opened up. So when do these elusive ladies open?

Comments (2)

• Bloomin_Onion
    9 years ago

Hi there, I posted a reply and it didn't show up. I hope it doesn't show up later lol... ok so I'm new to gardening and I have zukes and crooknecks. For me, I found that with my plants they wouldn't bloom the females until the plant itself was big or mature enough. I started my plants indoors and they've been of size now to produce fruit. I've harvested about a half-dozen zukes, but no crookneck. They seem to be fruiting a bit later and slower than the zucchini.