Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Cucumber problems-2nd year in a Row

Posted by kingreyam24 Maryland (My Page) on
Mon, Jul 14, 14 at 19:29

I have 3 raised vegetable gardens that i have been using for the last 7 years. I never had a problem with my cucumbers until last year. I have always planted the Straight Eight cucumbers. My plants were always dark green and so were the cucumbers. Last year, my cucumber plants started to turn yellow in one spot and then spread to the rest. The plants were completely dead before the end of July. I figured it was because we got more rain last summer than any other since I have lived here (Maryland), which obviously was not the case since it is happening again this year. Would love anyone to help me with what is happening here....thanks!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Cucumber problems-2nd year in a Row

Here is a close-up of the worst spot.

o

Last year I had the cucumbers planted where the tomatoes are on the left....in a completely different bed.

o

while I don't see it on the still green leaves in the photo, the yellow and dead parts of the plant look like the results of powdery mildew. Do the green leaves ever have a whitish substance that looks a bit like powder on the leaves? If it isn't this it could be some other fungus, and it might be well worth spraying with immunox. It won't cure the already damaged plant but will keep it from spreading and getting worse if it is a fungus. Good luck.

o

I have some of that on my plants too, I just keep picking off the bad leaves and throwing them in a burning barrel, I do spray mine with Immunox.

o

Downy or Powdery mildew looks like.

See:
http://www.clemson.edu/extension/hgic/pests/plant_pests/veg_fruit/hgic2206.html

You may have some success by searching out and planting varieties with more disease resistance than Straight 8. If you have been saving your own seed, discard what you have and resplace it new clean seed.

o