Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Truth or myth: Sugar and tomatoes

Posted by echquiltstorm 7 (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 4, 08 at 19:44

I read somewhere that if you put a cup of sugar in the hole when you are planting tomatoes, then the tomatoes will be sweeter. I did it last year, but being a novice I wouldn't know if it really worked. I realized I forgot to do it this year and wondered if it really made the difference?
What do you think?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Truth or myth: Sugar and tomatoes

I think someone is feeding you intersting information. My sungolds are very sweet and I didn't add any sugar.

o

Just have a good laugh and ignore it.

o

Sugar can increase biological activity in the soil. This is good and bad. Good in that the biology will liberate more nutrients, but bad in that there will be less left in reserve for the next crop.

In no case is there any credible science backing the idea that sugar in the planting hole makes the fruit sweeter. A bit healthier? Perhaps. Sweeter due to sugar? Nope.

o

• Posted by aulani 6 E. Kansas (My Page) on
    Fri, Jul 4, 08 at 22:11

Save your sugar in the planting hole and sprinkle some on the tomato itself to reduce acid if you have a tummy acid problem. Not much sugar, just a little. I find that about mid season, after I've eaten my weight in tomatoes, that my tummy starts to get a bit upset with all the acid. Sugar reduces it.

o

echquiltsorm,
Nope, sugar in the soil won't somehow travel up the plant into the tomatoes. It might affect the soil activity, as justaguy says. But if you want sweet tomatoes, grow sweet varieties. (Look at the descriptions and avoid words like "bite" and "old=fashioned tomato taste" and look for "sweet" and "mild" and "low-acid" (they probably aren't really low acid, since almost all tomatoes have the same pH, but those with more sugar often TASTE less acidic).