Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Black Diamond Watermelon

Posted by samsthumb 6 (My Page) on
Sat, Jul 7, 12 at 20:04

I am in central Missouri. We are in a drought with 7+ days of 100+ degrees. Despite this my melons plants look pretty good with watering. My concern, I know getting a crop of black diamond in my area takes forever...with the mild spring and cool nights my melon plants just sat there from May 10 when I planted them to June 1. June 1 I gave them a shot of Miracle Gro and a good soaking. It has been hot and dry since then. Only 2 inches in two rains since May 2. I use a soaker hose and water every 3 or 4 days for 2 hours. My plant leaves look healthy, some flowers mostly male. That's the problem, not many female. I have 12 plants and only 2 golf ball sized melons total. Am I just being impatient or am I not going to get any melons this year. This is my first year with Black Diamond. I've grown several other varieties in the past. Any ideas?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Black Diamond Watermelon

Patience should pay off. Black Diamond can be a bit more tricky than other watermelons, but it is usually in the area of ripening properly. They normally set ok, just take a long time to ripen and are prone to white heart.

o

Do they need any nutrient to increase flower production? I am leery of MG again as it promotes leaf growth and that is not my problem.

o

Have you tried hand pollination?

The female blossoms are out near the far end of strong runners. They have minature fruits behind the blossom and need pollination before noon. To pollinate, pick a male blossom [bright gold color] and pick off the petals and kiss the female [light yellow with green center] blossom lightly and thourally.

o