Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
garden_101

i don't get how plant cages/stakes work!?!?!?!

GARDEN_101
9 years ago

okay, so first of all I'm very new to gardening.

and i'm just wondering if certain plants like tomatoes need stakes or cages to support its weight, how do they grow in the wild then?

i mean in the wild how did they grow without stakes or cages?? how did they support their weight???

THX!!!!!

Comments (9)

• emmarene9
    9 years ago

I don't know how they grew in the wild but the farmers around here don't use stakes. Tomatoes are big business in my county. I think home growers do it to save space and make tending/harvesting them better.

• jean001a
    9 years ago

And to keep fruit off the ground, thereby bypassing some soilborne fruit rots.

In the wild, the plants sprawled on the ground. You can do the same if you don't mind the additional effort to harvest.

• nancyjane_gardener
    9 years ago

I've had a few surprise volunteers that I didn't get around to getting something to hold them up, and it was very difficult to keep track of, and harvest the tomatoes from those plants!
    Much easier to support them in some way!
    I was gone for 2 weeks and even in that time frame, I have a few wild branches that are too big to train ovr to the wire. Nancy

• missingtheobvious
    9 years ago

In my experience with tomatoes volunteering in the compost area (it's an area, not a bin!) a couple of years, most fruit end up either on the ground or only a few inches away from the ground (and the weeds). Many times more fruit are lost to bugs than to soil-borne diseases.

The other problem is that if I don't get those vines up on some sort of support, sooner or later the ground is covered with branches: I lose even more fruit because I can't reach them without stepping on the vines.

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    9 years ago