Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kalonkakon

Growing Veggies from Seeds in the Classroom (2nd grade)

kalonkakon
10 years ago

Hi! I am a second grade teacher and I am looking for some ideas about growing plants from seeds in the classroom. I am very new to gardening (I have a small container garden on my patio) and I would like to bring this into the classroom where I teach.

I am thinking of comparing this miracle of growing something great from a small seed to the students growing their minds. I want to have each student (about 24 or so kids) grow a plant from a seed. I am thinking of growing different seeds (because kids are different) and maybe growing things that might be compatible in a dish together (to show that we all have different gifts that can be combined to make something better...)

I don't know if I am over-reaching, but I'd like to give it a go! school starts at the end of August here, which perhaps is not an ideal time to start planting. I would be growing the plants indoors and can acquire some grow lights to help them.

If anyone has any ideas about how to make this a reality, I'd love to hear from you!! Any and all ideas are appreciated. Even if they foods cannot all be combined, I would like to have some variety. And maybe something that the kids can take home and continue to care for.

Thanks for any ideas!

Comments (9)

• theforgottenone1013 (SE MI zone 5b/6a)
    10 years ago

Hmm, the end of August. The plants you choose would have to be fast growing plus they would have to be cool weather veggies. I'm thinking lettuce, radishes, possibly chives (they can take these home and plant them since they are perenial), bok choy, mustard greens, things like that. Obviously, I'm thinking about fresh salads since you get a variety. You could also grow these things under lights in the classroom. Oh, and a swiss chard variety like Bright Lights, it's nice and colorful.

Rodney

This post was edited by theforgottenone1013 on Sat, Jul 13, 13 at 21:09