Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joe1980_gw

Is compost enough food?

Joe1980
12 years ago

Is adding my own compost to my veggie garden really enough to feed the garden for the year?? This is my first year in vegetable gardening, and I started late, so I added composted manure. But, I intend to make my own compost and work it into the soil next spring. Does it really hold enough nutrients or will I need to add something else also??

Joe

Comments (15)

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    12 years ago

Depends on what you're growing. It takes awhile.

Dan

• Shannon
    12 years ago

It depends how much space you have, how much compost you have, and how must you want to focus on yield. I might start to supplement some day, but for three years I've only used compost (turned in well) and I seem to have good harvests (good enough for my taste...who knows how much more I could be getting).

As a first-time gardener, I'd keep it simple. If something is lacking, you'll find out, then learn for next year. The years fly by and you learn a lot by doing! :)

• glib
    12 years ago

In a nutshell,

1) if you have clay you need less, if you have sand you need much more

2) if the compost is chicken manure you need a lot less, if it is leaves you need a lot more

3) if you are growing carrots, parsnips or beans you need none (if you composted the year before), if you are growing cabbage you need a lot

There are also natural fertilizers. Wood ash will both provide potassium for your fruiting plants and for carrots, and will lime your brassica, better than any lime or chemfert you may buy.

The real limiting factor is nitrogen, however. There are abundant natural sources in your house, but you may decide to go almost organic, and buy a 50lb bag of urea, to be used as a supplement to compost. It will last you ten years with, say, 1500 sqft of growing area.

• Donna
    12 years ago

The above posters are right, of course. But why guess? Get a soil test.