Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lonmower

A cover crop/raised bed question

lonmower
16 years ago

It is too early to plant a cover crop...

but not too early to think about it.

This is my situation....

I have been gardening in this location for three years. I built raised beds using a "modified lasgna method. Because we are renting I DID NOT use any sides to save on expense. I have four beds that are about 4X20 and they have produced some very fine crops (also a few failures...but it is learn as you go)

I am thinking about planting a winter cover crop. And my question is what to do about the crop in the spring. I can't really turn it under (?) I have access to a tiller, but I think that would damage or destroy the integrity of the beds.

I am making fairly large quantities of compost. Could I just cover over the green with compost in the spring? Do I mow it down first? Anyone have experience with this?

Comments (4)

• kabuti
    16 years ago