Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
b_garden

Seeds past expiration date

b_garden
15 years ago

How long will seeds last past the "expiration" date on the back of the packet? Can I use 2008 seeds for next year?

Comments (8)

• rjinga
    15 years ago

Disclaimer: I am no expert, and there are many others on here that will give you their experience based on years of proven trials. I have just one season to back up what I'm saying :)

I got seeds from the seed exchange forum, several of which were from 2004 and everything I planted grew. In fact most of these "older" seeds did better than some of the "new" store bought seeds. Certainly that could be a variety thing and not necessarily the seeds, but hey, if it grows, I dont care how old it is.

Worst case scenario is you plant them and they dont grow. Nothing to lose (I'd personally have a back up plan, so that my entire garden plans were not a flop if in fact they dont grow :)

• barbe_wa
    15 years ago

I think most of this year's seeds will be viable next year. I've planted some from 1999 and they came up fine. I test them before planting by folding 10 seeds up in a damp paper towel then putting it in a warm spot like on top of the fridge. Keep it damp but not soggy and after a few days you'll see how many germinate. This will give you a rough percentage of the number of viable seeds in the packet. You can then increase the seed density accordingly when you plant them.

• digdirt2
    15 years ago

The 2008 date is really an expiration date, it is a "packed for 2008". When stored properly (cool and dry conditions) most vegetable seeds except onions are viable for several years. I have some 5 and 6 year old seeds that I still get better than 70% germination from. Some have reported tomato seeds germinating after 10-15 years.

Check out the FAQ on this over on the Seed Saving forum for details on how to save and store.

Dave

• remy_gw
    15 years ago

B garden,