Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bibbus

Large leeks

bibbus 7b
10 years ago

This is my first time planting leeks and I let them grow too long. The have bulbs on the ends and one plant had babies. Should I leave the remainig plants in the ground to propagate or pull them up? Most that I've pulled up didn't have bulblets but two did. Can I just plant the bulbs for a later harvest?

Comments (12)

• theforgottenone1013 (SE MI zone 5b/6a)
    10 years ago

Those look like elephant garlic to me, not leeks. Although technically elephant garlic is a bulbing type of leek.

Do the bulbs have individual cloves or does it have rings like an onion? If they have cloves, they're elephant garlic. If they have rings, they're leeks.

Rodney

• seysonn
    10 years ago

Garlics. Cannot say whether elephant or not.

• naturegirl_2007 5B SW Michigan
    10 years ago

Non-bulbing varieties such as American Flag leek do not bulb up no matter how long you let them grow. I've even overwintered some varieties and they do not form bulbs. I'm not sure what you have, but it is not any of the traditional leeks. I think the above ID and suggestions are good ones.

Yours look like they grew well and should give you some good eating, though.

• seysonn
    10 years ago

A simple way to know is by tasting. Leek has a mild onion taste, nothing like garlic at all. Another thing is that leek does not bulb. Its stem is its bulb. Some time it grows small bulbils to divide and multiply. But they are tiny, as I recall.

• weedlady
    10 years ago

Yeah, definitely -- you have garlic, NOT leeks!!
    Can't tell for sure, but I think they may be a hardneck variety (do/did they have a curling stem rising from the center and ending in a sort of flowerbud-looking thing? See link below for using these gourmet treats!).
    Softneck types do not develope scapes.