Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
janny_gw

What's wrong with my corn?

janny
13 years ago

This is my first year growing corm and have been anxiously waiting for the ears to develop. I started the corn in my greenhouse and transplanted it. Today I examined the corn closely and noticed the ears are deformed. Each one has 2-4 cobs in each ear. It looks like they're all like this! My friend is growing corn beside it and hers looks fine. I did soak the corn before I planted it to remove the fungicide that was on it as I wanted it more organic. Did that cause this problem? I'm very disappointed with my 50 stalks, what a waste of time, money and space! So who knows what happened to my Ambrosia corn? Thanks for your help. Janny

Comments (7)

• sandhill_farms
    13 years ago

Hi Janny - First of all corn doesn't take to being transplanted, it should be direct seeded. Also, you don't have to pre-soak it. I can't say if removing the fungicide would have any negative results but I doubt it. As far as 2-4 cobs per ear I'm not sure what you mean by this, how about posting a Photo.

Greg
    Nevada

• janny
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Sorry I didn't make this clear. I do know about the pitfalls of transplanting corn. I have friends who do this every year and have corn two weeks early, so I know you can do this successfully. So this was an experiment for me and I direct seeded other varieties to see which corn would produce first. But back to the problem, is an ear and a cob the same thing? I have growing in the "green leaf package" several tiny undeveloped ears of corn growing together. One maybe 6 inches long and 1 inch thick and the others smaller in size. There are tassels on it, but obviously deformed. My garden is a shared one and not at my house so I won't be able to take a picture today. Thanks for your help. I was hoping someone would tell me it must be defective seed and eliminate me from the problem.(haha)

• sandhill_farms
    13 years ago