Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jaywomack

Tomatillos not Fruiting

JayWomack
12 years ago

This is my first time growing Tomatillos. I have one plant, which has been in the ground about two months. It's gone through several cycles of blossoms, the last of which has been much more prolific. During the first cycle, they just shriveled up and died. Though there have lots of bees, all of my plants have had problems with pollination. I've been doing a lot of hand pollinating, moving my pots around a bit, but I'm not sure if my problem is a lack of pollination, because I'm not sure about the characteristics of the plant. Anyway, any info would help.

Thanks

Comments (29)

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    12 years ago

What's your weather and compare it to what they want. Since we have no other information or zero idea where you are, that's the best we can do.

Dan

• JayWomack
    Original Author
    12 years ago

My zone is 10, but I'm not sure how to find out what they want.

• JayWomack
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Just read in another post that Tomatillos are not self-pollinating. Thanks anyway.

• coralb
    12 years ago

Yep. I was going to suggest the problem may be that you need 2.

• treemama
    12 years ago

I would say that is exactly the issue here. You need at least 2 tomatillos to pollinate each other. I went through the very same thing recently. I planted one plant and watched it get very large and lush with many flowers but no fruit. I then read on this forum that I needed to get a second one. I planted another, much younger plant (well, probably a few months apart anyway), and within 2 weeks I started seeing fruit. It was like magic! both plants are now bearing large fruit and I am eagerly awaiting them to mature so I can make some salsa verde!

• JayWomack
    Original Author
    12 years ago