Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
curlyjenny

Pepper plants - should I be worried?

CurlyJenny
9 years ago

Since this is my first time planting veggies in beds, I'm not sure if I should be concerned with the things I'm noticing in these two plants. I thought you good people might be able to lend your expertise.

I live in zone 5a, which has nice black soil on top and clay about 4-5 inches below that. This is my first vegetable bed here. I dug it up in the fall, added manure and covered with straw for the winter. Then in the spring before planting, I lifted the mulch, added more manure, Espoma biotone (3-4-4) and blood meal, mixed it up again and put in my starts: a yellow bell pepper and jalapeno about 18 inches apart.

We have had a very rainy June--it's rained nearly every day. But prior to that, I made sure soil around the plants did not dry out.

Individual plant details below:

Yellow Bell - planted early May. Started three fruits pretty quickly. (You can see in the photo attached.) The plant has continued to flower, however, these flowers do not seem to be leading to fruits. Should I be concerned or is the plant conserving energy for the three fruits it's already developing? From the photo, you can see that a few of the lower leaves have yellow spots. Not sure if this is related or bad.

Jalapeno - planted late May (photo in next post). Start seemed pretty mature when planted; it was already starting to form buds. But so far, nothing has really happened. The buds never turned to fruit. The leaves here are yellowing in a way that looks like some sort of fungal problem. They were actually worse a couple of weeks ago, but have greened up for some reason. Flower production has nearly halted. It's a long story, but I have another jalapeno start (different source) that I still haven't put in the ground, and it's already fruiting. So it seems there is something wrong with this one.