Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
veggieslover

Broccoli not producing heads

veggieslover
15 years ago

It's my first time growing broccoli but my landlord swears this plot produces great broccoli. My first row was planted the week before Mother's Day and the second row in the last week of May. Neither of them have produced heads and the first row's broccoli plants are something like 1 1/2 feet long! What's going on? Can anyone help please??

Comments (20)

• macky77
    15 years ago

My broccoli can get quite tall before the head starts to form. If you measure the height of the perkiest leaves, I think mine are about knee height or a little above and I just picked my first heads today (transplanted outside May 14). If you gently push the little leaves away in the centre, can you see anything there? I have a very early variety (55 days), but main-season varieties can take up to 70 days (adjusted for your conditions of course). What is the name of your broccoli? If the plants look healthy, it might be a matter of waiting just a little longer.

• tomakers
    15 years ago

Most broccoli is at least 60 days from transplant. Many varieties are longer.

• booberry85
    15 years ago

Broccoli also doesn't like heat. I usually get heads early (end of June.) Then the plants go dormant in the heat of July and start producing side shoots at the end of August until we get a hard freeze.

• james_in_lapine
    15 years ago

I agree with booberry85, I got a late start this year and I am just now showing signs of flowers, bolting flowers.

• aulani
    15 years ago

Veggielover, mine grew real big too, knee high, huge leaves, then suddenly one day around the first week of July, boom! They all started to produce heads. Were it cooler, I believe the heads would have been larger. Be patient, and like macky says, look deep inside the growing tip. I'll bet you see the first forms of a head.

• P POD
    15 years ago