Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ka_dubai

Don't know what is growing in my garden!!

KA_Dubai
10 years ago

Hello Everyone. I have around 7 different plant species growing wild in my garden which I haven't planted.

A little background about me and my garden: I am a complete beginner in the field of gardening. I have grown up around gardens but it has always been taken care by paid professionals. I am now in a time in my life where I want to learn everything about gardening and grown organic food which I can consume, and I also have a huge interest in how nature works and would like to not take it for granted anymore.

I live in Dubai, UAE. For those who don't know much about this place it's natural state is a desert but if you provide enough water there can be greenery here. The only exception being during the summer months where the climate is very hot. Here is a link on the climate of Dubai: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Climate_of_Dubai.

I have recently moved into a new house with my wife and it has a small garden. The area I am in is surrounded by tall building and there is also construction going on nearby, so there is a lot of dust. When I moved in, the house had been vacant for a while so no one had maintained the garden. When I arrived there was many bold patches of grass. The trees around the edges were all alive and fine. I immediately began operating the irrigation system, and set the watering time to start at 4:30am and go on for 3 minutes. I was advised that as soon as the water is back on, the garden should restore to its previous state. So I waited for a few months and the grass wasn�t getting better, but the trees started to grow more and look healthy.

Around mid June of this year, I increased the watering to 2 times a day adding a watering at 6:30 pm for 3 minutes (Sunset is around 7pm). After this change, I noticed that the grass area started becoming more active and more green, even though the temperature was rising.