Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elisa_z5

Garlic problem: stinky black rot, white worms

elisa_z5
10 years ago

I've been growing garlic for 7 years and it has always been pristine with no problems at all.

this year the plants looked great, the harvest looked fine (just a little later than usual), but I'm finding that some of the heads have some cloves that have turned black and are stinky and rotten, and some cloves have white wormy larvae in them (at least I think they're larvae). Some heads are just fine, and I can't tell until I open them up whether it will be a good head or a head with some problems.

I have been all over the internet, and the Alluim forum (which seems pretty inactive, which is why I'm posting here), to try to find information about what these two things are, and I'm only getting more confused. Is it Nematodes?

Can I compost the garlic stems or would this spread the problem?
Can I plant my own garlic again next year (as I've always done)?
Does soaking in hot water or alcohol before planting help prevent the spread of this problem?

Thanks, in advance, for any information!

Comments (5)

• planatus
    10 years ago

My onion crops -- garlic, bulb onions and shallots -- have way more than the usual number of culls, too, with exacty the syndrome you describe. One variety of bulb onion, Milano, and one variety of shallot, Saffron, seem unaffected, but the red shallots and mid-size rocambole garlics are very badly hit. Many had one or two rotting cloves and the rest good, so we peeled, sliced and dried them before they could rot. I'm keeping my best garlic heads, for replanting, on a shelf in the living room so I can smell it should they start going bad.

I think it was all the rain that done it, almost every day in May and June. The peppers and beans loved it.

• theforgottenone1013 (SE MI zone 5b/6a)
    10 years ago