Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newbie90

cucumber looking sorry for its self

Newbie90
9 years ago

Hey all, I'm a newbie and just wondering what is wrong with my cucumber, it's moist, watered and has been feed potash once a week for the last few weeks so why does it look sorry for its self? The tendrils are yellowing and dying and the leafs are curling and crispy as well as what you can see in the pictures.

Comments (10)

• Newbie90
    Original Author
    9 years ago

more photos

• Newbie90
    Original Author
    9 years ago

more pictures

• Newbie90
    Original Author
    9 years ago

more pics

• WillyInYardley
    9 years ago

Hi,
    Your first photo may show some angular leaf spot, but the others look like bacterial wilt.
    Cukes are plagued by a lot of diseases, and they are hard to avoid. You can find more from a USDA guidebook; the one I use is Pest_ID_Guide.pdf, for the Northeast U.S. Sorry, I don't know the entire URL.
    Problems like Cucumber Mosaic are transmitted by the cucumber beetle, which you have no control over, especially if your neighbors are also growing cukes. Some cucumber varieties are tolerant of these problems, and will continue to produce tasty fruit for several weeks even if they're infested. My favorite for the last couple of years is 'General Lee.' If you start your cukes from seed, you have a better chance of avoiding baddies like bacterial wilt, which probably come home with the plant from the nursery.

Regards,
    Bill

• missingtheobvious
    9 years ago

What's the reason for the black plastic around the base of the plant?

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

how do you feed a plant potash???

and why every week ... in a POTTED PLANT ...

i gave up on cukes decades ago ... they simply werent worth the aggravations...

as a newb ... dont get disheartened over cuke.. on any level ...

and with what looks like great soil below the pot.. why is it in a pot???

ken

• Newbie90
    Original Author
    9 years ago