Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
taras49

Top Soil

taras49
11 years ago

I built an 8' x 8' raised garden bed last year. I filled it with 75 bags of inexpensive top soil, bought from Home Depot. My vegetables did well last year but this year not so good. For next year I'm thinking that I should buy a few large bags of "Garden Soil" and mix it in with my older top soil. Will this be beneficial? Was using just top soil a mistake?

Comments (26)

• itzybitzy_gw
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

YES it was:( and buying garden soil isn't going to be much better...my instict tells me do a soil test,find out what's like add ton of compost...I'm not an expert but I have read similar questions around here,I should let the experts speak:)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Will this be beneficial? Was using just top soil a mistake?

Beneficial? Well it can't hurt but it won't make much difference. Better to spend the money on lots and lots of quality compost and composted manure.

A mistake? Yes, unfortunately it was. No more than 50% of the bed should be top soil is the standard recommendation so now you have to correct the mistake and spend more money to do that. Pull up all the discussions here about how to build/fill raised beds - there are many of them - for all the details.

Dave

• dhromeo
    11 years ago

I'm no expert, but I work with soil types and farming, I'll try and explain.

Top Soil in this country formed under thousands of years of grasslands dying every winter, and the dying material and root growth breaking down into rich humus. Or in the case of wooded uplands, fallen trees and leaves breaking down into organic matter.