Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
victorb17_gw

How to kill harmful insects while, keeping bees

victorb17
11 years ago

I am new to the garden arena, so bear with me here. I have an ant, caterpillar, and aphid problem. It is a major problem. The ants have a reputation for being bad in my area. I have had them clog the contactor on the water pump several times they are so bad! I have tried every ant killer on the market it seems and they just laugh at me! Since growing a garden I have had other bug problems. I want to stay organic, but I need some serious bug fighting power. At the same time, we have very little bees, and my garden seems to be attracting more over time. So I obviously don't want to hurt them.

To make things more complicated, I would like to stay cheap. I am gardening because I like to do it. But at the same time it would be awesome if it would supplement the grocery bill. I already have over $500 invested in irrigation, soil amendments, and just getting everything prep'd.

Is there anything I can do? If I order bulk lady bugs, do they really stay put and work? I am now planting a fall garden. What can I use this time of year?

I'm willing to learn. Just need someone with experience to share! Thanks, Victor.

Comments (26)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Pesticides are very insect-variety specific. What type of ants for example? Carpenter ants require very different pesticides from sugar ants or leaf cutter ants or fire ants.

Caterpillars, the majority of which are beneficials, not pests, are also variety specific pesticides. Organic Bt dust (Dipel) or liquid (Thuricide) will kill and control cabbage loopers and tomato hornworms but will also kill butterfly caterpillars while not harming corn ear worms.

Aphids can be controlled with a hose and plain water or with a spray made of 1T liquid dish soap added to 1 gallon of water (never apply in the direct sun or heat of the day and only mist the aphids not the whole plant).