Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oohstella

Best books for desert gardening / Eastern Oregon / Western Idaho?

oohstella
9 years ago

I know a ton of great books for gardening "west of the Cascades," in the Portland region where it is rainy and mild temperatures (zone 8), but I am moving to the desert climate of eastern Oregon and I do not know where to start. We will be located right at the border between Oregon and Idaho. Do you know of any good books I could look into for desert gardening? Or where I could look to find some?

Also, if you have any advice at all for desert gardening, I'm all ears.

Comments (5)

• lazy_gardens
    9 years ago

Sunset's Western Garden book

And when you get there, the local library or water department or County extension agent would have plant lists.

It's not tricky - mulch like mad, make compost and use it liberally, water seldom and water DEEPLY.

• lantanascape
    9 years ago

Hi, I have been gardening in the Boise area for about 8 years now. It's actually not too difficult of a climate to garden in, so long as you have access to irrigation water. Another thing that you might want to think about is protection from wind, If you're in a suburban back yard, it is not as much of an issue, but if your garden is more exposed, the wind can be pretty tough on plants. The sun can also be pretty intense, so where you may have wanted to maximize sun/heat on the "wet side" of Oregon, that's not always the case over here. For instance, I established a garden on the south side of the house this spring, and while the eggplants, sweet potatoes and okra are all thriving, it is proving to be too much for the hops, and they are getting kind of bleached and singed from the intense sun and heat.

There is very little that can't be grown in this climate though. Artichokes are the only thing that comes to mind (and citrus of course) that I haven't been successful with.

• oohstella
    Original Author
    9 years ago