Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
devinvt

carrots for over winter

devinvt
15 years ago

Hi all, I am thinking about planting carrots for winter harvest. I am looking for anyone who has done this and how late can I plant them in the ground. What I have is an area that I am growing fall harvest lettuce and that is where I am going to plant my carrots. Should I plant them (from seed) before or after the first frost? I know that you can plant them in the spring before the last frost has hit as long as the soil is not frozen, but I am not sure if the first frost in the fall will kill the seedlings or not. Obviously I will have to mulch everything to keep the ground from freezing. Does anyone have any advice, specifically if you live near the Richmond, VA area that would be helpful but I will take any advice. This is my first time trying to have a winter crop. Thanks

Comments (10)

• daryljurassic
    15 years ago

Last year was my first year growing carrots - rainbow mix. I started my second batch(winter) in late August last year and set up a simple hoop frame before the first frost. We had carrots into early January - had to shake the snow off the plastic to get to them... Not sure if that variety(s) keeps better than others. Around here they are pretty slow to get started. I'm not sure I would wait until the frost.

• vgkg Z-7 Va
    15 years ago