Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jbraun_gw5bmo

Garden Huckleberry

jbraun_gw
9 years ago

This is my first year of growing garden huckleberry. I just harvested only 2/3 cup on 10' . Info i read suggested this is a heavy feeder so next year I'll give it more.

My question to you is do I need to do something to increase the flavor? I used baking soda on the first boil, then continued boiling for another 45 min. I topped pancakes with them and used honey to get sweet but they were kind of bland. Was I expecting to much? Is it the perennial huckleberry that's more flavorful?

Comments (16)

• dbarron
    9 years ago

If by 'huckleberry', you mean wild blueberries, then...yes.

The garden 'huckleberry', is a relative of the tomato and probably not much like a blueberry at all.

• wayne_5 zone 6a Central Indiana
    9 years ago

I have raised the'garden huckleberry'. It has its fruits turned upward and they are purple. Let them get FULLY ripe as they are naturally tart. If you make pies of them [or anything] mash them up very well and be prepared to sweeten more than a dab.

• Slimy_Okra
    9 years ago

I have not grown them but have read that they are quite bland. You may want to try mixing them 50/50 with a more flavorful fruit, such as strawberries or peaches.

9 years ago

I think they have a strong unique flavor that may not and need not blend with anything else.

Slimy_Okra, These are not Wonderberries.

9 years ago

I have to wonder if anyone else here is talking about the 'garden huckleberry'. These fruits are borne with the blossom end sticking upward...not hanging down and small like nightshade.

• samhain10 - 5a
    9 years ago