Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ilovecomputers

To fertilize or not, that is the question.

ilovecomputers
10 years ago

Hi, I'm a vegetable garden newbie. In SE Michigan, we've had a difficult growing season--two late frosts and excessive rain that delayed planting and almost drowned our tender seedlings. Now, we're having mild temperatures (mid 60s) but next week it's going to be in the 90s. I'm caring for a vegetable garden that benefits a soup kitchen, and I've been fertilizing it every two weeks with a Miracle Grow product that hooks to the hose.

We have tomatoes, peppers, squash, cucumber and onion plants, and everything has tons of flowers on it. Next Friday is the day I have planned to fertilize again, but I'm hesitant to do so now because I'm afraid we're running out of warm weather. We have lots and lots of green tomatoes that I fear won't ripen on the vine. Should I fertilize the garden one last time?

One last question: Our onions don't seem to be doing anything. Is it the clay soil? I haven't grown onions before and I understand when the stems fall over, they're ready for picking (or digging up). Will I see a part of the onion above ground, too? The stems appear to be about 12" high but other than that, they don't look like much.

All advice is appreciated.

Comments (6)

• glib
    10 years ago

It is possible that your soil is too acid, or that all that Miracle Grow has acidified it, and the onions do not like it. I am no expert with continuous fertilization, I fertilize tomatoes exactly twice, and IMHO only cabbage and collards need continuous fertilization.

I am just west of Detroit, and I have long learned that the only way to counteract a year like this is to grow more roots and more leaves and fewer fruits.

• ltilton
    10 years ago

The onions were possibly planted way too deep.