Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nocluewhattodo_gw

please help me save my son's corn

nocluewhattodo
9 years ago

We live in the city, hardly any grass anywhere. My 10 year old son got some corn seed and planted then in a small strip of dirt on the side of my home. He watered them faithfully and to my complete surprise, they actually started to grow! He was so excited. They were like 4 feet tall already.
But last night we had a rain storm and this morning I see that the stalks have snapped.
My son is so disappointed.
I have zero experience in planting anything...
I am wondering if there is any way to save the corn...
Someone, please help me!

Comments (5)

• defrost49
    9 years ago

If the stems are broken, there is nothing you can do, I'm sorry. If they were pushed down but still have roots but maybe roots are showing like a toppled tree, you can try pushing upright and putting some more dirt around the roots.

Corn is nice big seeds and easy for kids to plant but this was a project almost totally doomed for failure. I hate to see a child disappointed but maybe you can talk to him about growing plants and get a substitute for him to take care of that might have a lot more chance of success. If he likes pizza, how about a potted basil plant to keep on a windowsill. Even a cut stem of basil has a chance of rooting and then he can enjoy harvesting some basil leaves for pizza.

I think beans on a narrow strip would have been better or grow something in a large pot.

Have a talk with him about success and failure. Even the most experienced farmer can get hit by blight or hail. And look around next year for some kind of gardening experience for him.

• jimster
    9 years ago

Often, corn which has lodged (been blown down by wind) will right itself after 3 or 4 days even when it looks hopeless. It is amazing to see. I suggest doing nothing for a few days and see what happens.

There are different types of lodging, so it may not work. Worth a try though.

Jim

• moltroub