Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
steve22802

Early harvesting Red Kuri squash?

steve22802
10 years ago

This is my first year growing Red Kuri winter squash. Other years I've just grown butternut which I leave on the vine until the end of the season (mid October here.) Some of the Red Kuris have already turned a nice bright red color. Are they ripe already? Will the flavor be good at this stage or does it improve if they are left for several months longer on the vine? If it is ok to harvest them now, will harvesting them as they turn bright red encourage the vines to produce more giving me a larger crop?

Thanks,
Steve

Comments (25)

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Red Kuri is one of our personal favorites - beautiful and very tasty. But like all other winter squash the best results come from leaving them on the vine until the vines begin to die off and the stems are well dried and hard.

But yes you can harvest one early if you wish or if it gets broken off etc and it is edible. The taste isn't as well developed we find, not as nutty or mellow, more sharp.

Does harvesting encourage new production? Yes, depending on how many you harvest early. If the plant is healthy and sufficient nutrients are provided it may set more fruit. But I find that the later fruit are much smaller and few in number so I prefer to let the plant focus on its primary production for quality.

Dave

• carolync1
    10 years ago

In the Fresno area, they harvest some kabocha squash for export to Japan in June. In my garden, winter squash not in the butternut family die off before fall. So a lot depends on your particular circumstances and the health of the vines.

• Mark
    10 years ago

Red Kuri and all the squash of the maxima species are ripe when the stem turns a light tan and looks and feels like a dry cork. Like Dave suggests, i'd leave them on the vine as long as you can unless they need to come off for some other reason (frost, sunburn, critters eating them, etc).