Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
soilent_green

Minnesota Garlic Crop Wiped Out

soilent_green
11 years ago

I am not an expert on plant diseases and pathogens, but this is what I have learned so far. I gratefully welcome any corrections, additions, or expert input regarding this subject.

The Minnesota boutique garlic industry was devastated this year by a disease that has been identified as "Aster yellows". It is a phytoplasma that is carried by leafhoppers, and is introduced into a plant when the leafhopper feeds. Garlic plants are normally not affected because the leafhoppers generally prefer other types of plants. Because of the mild winter the garlic sprouted earlier than usual, and the leafhoppers migrated earlier than usual. There was little else to feed on at the time of their arrival so the leafhoppers fed on the garlic and infected it with the Aster yellows disease.

The disease crippled or destroyed most of the garlic crops here. This is apparently a native disease, not an introduced one, that exploded this year due in large part to the extraordinarily mild winter of 2011-2012. Most of the commercial boutique garlic growers in Minnesota lost everything, including what would have been used for seed stock, so they will now be starting over from scratch. Most likely some growers will quit the business entirely.

I had been expanding my crop over the last five years with the intention of going into the garlic business myself. I too lost everything - 10,000 plants - which included my seed stock for next year.

Even though I personally do not subscribe to the theory of anthropogenic global warming, I must admit this problem may turn out to be a result of a long term climate change and thus may recur or be here to stay. Hopefully I am wrong about this - time will tell.