Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pepprgrowr

can vegtables be tricked to growing inside perpetually?

PepprGrowr
9 years ago

This is my first year as a grower of any vegetables and many of my vegetables are grown in individual pots, typically 5 - 10 gallon. I have a variety of vegetables but am most curious about my peppers, and Tomatoes.

Since summer is almost over, if I were to bring in the plants at the end and keep them under a sun replacement ( HPS, MH, LED) for the optimum amount of time daily ( say 12 hours to replicate full summer sun) would the peppers continually produce fruit?

Thanks for the help and if you have any similar setups would love to see them!

Regards

Comments (8)

• Kevin Reilly
    9 years ago

Peppers & Tomato's are actually perennial plants (in the tropics, where they are from), you don't need to trick them, just mimic a tropical environment, which means no freezes!

I have one pepper plant that is 4 years old, living outside against a protected wall in the winter...

• glib
    9 years ago

the problem is the light.

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

Agree with glib, the main problem is providing enough light. While even perennials have a life span and will eventually die (so no, perpetual isn't possible) and while you can easily provide the water and nutrient and air temps needed, providing enough light broad spectrum is an expensive challenge.

Even those of us who grow in greenhouses have to provide supplemental lighting in the form of HID or MH during the winter and in most cases, unless you live close to the equator, it's 16-18 hours that is needed not just 12.

So how close can you come to replicating the conditions in a GH without spending an arm and a leg and are the few peppers or tomatoes you will get be worth that cost? :) For most, the answer is a definite no.

Dave

• donna_in_sask
    9 years ago

Another thing to consider if plants are brought in from outside, you will likely be battling bugs too.

• zeedman Zone 5 Wisconsin