Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brian_knight_gw

Tomatoes decimated! Help with Diagnosis?

Brian_Knight
9 years ago

This problem has gotten worse over the years and I suspect a soil borne virus? The potted plant is doing better than last years but still seems to be getting infected.

{{gwi:102419}}

Yellow Pear and Cherry in ground. After great vegetative growth they lose their bottom leaves up, very quickly after starting to fruit.

{{gwi:102420}}

This one in a 4ish-1-1 mix in 20 gallon smartpot was labeled black cherry but it seems like its crossed with a striped variety. Its been doing better than the ones in the ground but seems to be getting infected too.

{{gwi:102421}}

Overdue for a soil test in the garden and would like to implement things now to improve for next year. Plenty of OM and suspect it might be too much. Any good ideas and/or related threads is much appreciated!

Comments (7)

• Peter1142
    9 years ago

Looks like late blight to me... but I am not an expert..

• eibren
    9 years ago

There are quite a few articles out there. DH had this on his tomatoes a few years ago and was instructed by the county agent to clean his tomato stakes with a chlorine solution before using them the following year, even though we have winter freezes.

Here's the Google listing:

https://www.google.com/webhp?sourceid=chrome-instant&ion=1&espv=2&ie=UTF-8#q=tomato%20blight%20petunias

If this is what you have, someone in your area has infected your crops, and you will do the same to everyone in your area unless you clear it. It is a very serious communicable spore disease which caused the potato famine in Ireland years ago.

This strain comes from Mexico, and is resistant to the usual fungicides used to fight it. It has been ruining potato crops in the US. It spread to many small gardens from infected petunias sold by a big box store a few years ago.

Here is a link that might be useful: NYS

• Brian_Knight
    Original Author
    9 years ago