Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
When to harvest kabocha squash?

Posted by pylot usda 9b, sunset 17 (My Page) on
Mon, Aug 23, 10 at 13:57

I have a kabocha squash vine that has two squashes so far, and it is still growing (the season will last another 2-3 months) The oldest squash already turned orange, and I was wondering if I should harvest it now, or leave it on the vine for a couple of months more until the whole plant dies. I remember all the kabocha squash at the store are mostly green, with just a bit of orange, which would suggest I'm already too late to harvest?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: When to harvest kabocha squash?

Hi - this is my first year with kabocha squash so I am not an expert. My hill has huge vines (heirloom seed) and doing very very well so I am thrilled.

I can tell you that with OTHER winter squash -- and that is what I will be going by, you watch the stems and when they turn brown and look like the stems in the store, the squash is ready to harvest. Obviously they will also be dark green or whatever color the squash should be when "full grown" :D.

When winter squash turn orange (and some like acorn will do that in storage) they typically become inedible. I have a couple that are about ready to pick and there are others on those long vines still working on growing, so I suspect that picking now (at least one and testing) would be a good plan.

Thanks for the reminder. I probably need to go check mine again. It has been a summer without summer in the Northwest so we are about a month and a half behind. I can't imagine what those squash will be like on a regular year! Wow! My favorite for eating.

Good luck.

o

• Posted by whgille Oakland, FL-Zone 9B (My Page) on
    Mon, Aug 23, 10 at 15:42

Hi

I planted different kabocha type this season, here it is baby delica just picked.

Photobucket

And stuffed with sausage, delicious! I will grow it again.

Photobucket

Silvia

o