Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emorems0

Onion issues

emorems0
9 years ago

I got really distracted this summer with new chickens and a baby on the way and pretty much neglected my garden for the past month. My onions got overtaken by nasturtiums and the green tops withered up and are gone. I don't think that would have happened yet if they hadn't been overrun... don't you typically harvest onions closer to fall? I can see a bit of the onions pushing through the soil but they still look fairly small.

At this point, with the tops gone, should I harvest them now? or is there any chance they'll keep growing now that I have uncovered them from their intrusive neighbors?

Comments (8)

• theforgottenone1013 (SE MI zone 5b/6a)
    9 years ago

Harvest them. They're done.

Rodney

• emorems0
    Original Author
    9 years ago

So this is my first time with onions... how do I harvest them? Just dig them up a bit and let them dry on/in the dirt before pulling them all the way out?

• wayne_5 zone 6a Central Indiana
    9 years ago

Dig them fully up. If they are in decent condition, let them lay in the row 2 or 3 days. Then bring them into a warm, airy, and shady place to dry and cure. You can string them up by the tops or do like I do. I lay them out with a little bit of space between them on a table in a screened patio.

• emorems0
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you! From what I can see poking up from the soil they look like they are still good, we'll see tomorrow when I dig them up :)

• naturegirl_2007 5B SW Michigan
    9 years ago

Onions with weed pressure and low fertilization often don't grow very big. (and I know that from experiencing life happening, too) The onions still taste fine, though....just take more time to peel.

New babies definitely come before weeds and fertilizing. Get the rest you need now and be ready to grab a nap when you can once the baby arrives.

• fcc0
    9 years ago