Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thekingjp

Weird Question...

thekingjp
9 years ago

This may seem like a weird question and believe me I'm not mad about it; but I've been gardening for about six years now and I've never once had an issue with pests in the garden. I don't have the best soil and I don't even use compost. I really just use any yard waste I have left over from various things, and I also mulch with real wood chips and pine straw (which I have an abundance of). But yeah I see some pests on my vegetables from time to time but they never cause and substantial amount of damage. Not really even a little. A great problem to have but why do you think that is?

Comments (22)

• bossyvossy
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

people with garden problems seem to have louder voices than those who don't. Not a weird question at all. But don't get complacent, there are many pests yet that may cross your path, and your voice might get louder also, lol

• catherinet
    9 years ago

You may have just jinxed yourself. hahaha
    Just kidding. Just consider yourself very lucky! :)

• 2ajsmama
    9 years ago

Yeah, you jinxed yourself ;-) I didn't see any SVB, SWD, squash bugs of cucumber beetles until last year, and I had a small garden in RI from 1996 - 2006 and here at this house 2008 - 2010 before I started selling at market in 2011.

And I was *just* saying I hadn't seen any hornworms this year when the next day I found a huge moth on one of my plants (I hope I got her off before she laid eggs).

• thekingjp
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Haha thanks for the advice although I'm not too worried. A wise man told me that insects attacks plants that are stressed. So if that's true, I guess you keep your plants happy and the bugs won't be able to desecrate them.

• thekingjp
    Original Author
    9 years ago