Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chicagodeli37

need help and fast

ChicagoDeli37
11 years ago

Ok here's the issue. The season is fastly moving to the end. Its my first year so not quite sure exactly when things start to die. I thought I had more time but these last 4 months went by fast.

With that said my canaluopes need more time as well as peppers and everything else. Seems i planted ti late ( may 12th )

I was planing on turning this into a green house over the next few years but now I have the sudden urge to do it as soon as next week.

I was thinking Plexiglas but to expensive and much more work

I see alot of hothouses covered with this thick clear plastic?

Doesn't seem like much sun penetrates through..

Here's my inclosure. I don't think I could just do the roof flat. Considering winter's snow.

So the second picture is how I was thinking id make the shape.

{{gwi:102265}}

{{gwi:106101}}

If I could manage to get this done before winter. That will allow me to get some extra time out of this season and start much earlier next.

Does this hot house need ventilation?

And does it need to be sealed perfectly? If so how?

Any advice will help. Im about to search for some help as well.

Comments (23)

• ChicagoDeli37
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Just read not to use treated wood as raisebeds?
    Only in greenhouse or in general?

HERES A FEW MORE THAT MIGHT BE THE WAY
    I SHOULD DO IT. I LIKE THE FIRST ONE THE BEST

{{gwi:106102}}

{{gwi:106103}}

{{gwi:106104}}

• ChicagoDeli37
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Just read not to use treated wood as raisebeds?
    Only in greenhouse or in general?

HERES A FEW MORE THAT MIGHT BE THE WAY
    I SHOULD DO IT. I LIKE THE FIRST ONE THE BEST

{{gwi:106102}}

{{gwi:106103}}

{{gwi:106104}}

• glib
    11 years ago

what do you plan on growing in there? You could make yourself some low tunnels inside the nice structure you already have, and do it fast and cheap.

• lizbeth_pa
    11 years ago