Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
erin_farr

First year of kitchen gardening - having some issues!

Well...as the title says this is my first year of kitchen gardening. I planted a whole bunch of things and everything was growing rapidly and I had lots and lots and LOTS of fruits and vegetables growing. I started most from seed but also bought some plants (Sugar Baby Watermelon, Cantaloupe, Acorn Squash and butternut squash).

I had some surgery in mid June and wasn't able to tend to the garden but that didn't stop it from growing. It hadn't done much before my sugery but while I was "off" the garden took off... once I was feeling better I decided it needed to be weeded. This FYI, is now in late July. This is where I start running into problems....

First - I noticed gnaw marks of some of the nearly ripened items (a few acorn squash and the 1 butternut I had). It was nothing major and I attributed this to the fact that you (and animals) could now SEE the vegetables after weeding. It only happened this one time and not since. But as I was admiring the cleaned up garden, I noticed that the butternut squash had some yellow leaves near. I then uncovered a nearly crisp and nearly hollowed out stalk and a big slug right by it. I thought slugs ate leaves only?! Was this something else that causes this? I hadn't had any problems previously with any pests and I have been adding nothing but water and sunlight into here. I bought some slug killer but that was more for my hostas....I really like the idea of a completely natural and organic garden - even if it means some lost crops.