Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
westy1941

First-Time Squash Grower Questions

Carole Westgaard
10 years ago

Tomatoes, lettuce, herbs I've grown for 35 years but this is my first attempt at squash and a few other veggies. I think I planted them too close! Renting a 20x12 ft plot and squeezed in fifteen tomato plants, a dozen bell peppers, half dozen Fresnos and two Habaneros (which I've learned are the hottest so I'll be giving those away to the brave). I also squeezed in some onions, cukes, peas, beans and six squash (Zucchini, Summer - whatever that is - but that's what the tag said), Acorn and Butternut). OK the question: is it ok to cut off some of the squash leaves? I CAN'T FIND ANYTHING! It's just difficult to get around in there, naturally!

Westy

Comments (9)

• myluck
    10 years ago

I've been cutting leaves off my butternut to keep them clear around my other plants. And they are still growing. I cut them off at the vine. I think it makes them grow longer vines. "There goes the neighborhood"

• nancyjane_gardener
    10 years ago

Well, first of all.....6 zucchinis???? Are you nuts? Or do you have a family of 20 or so?
    Second, do you have the SVB in your area? I don't , so I don't know if that has anything to do with your growing conditions.I'm not sure if cutting the vines might invite the bugs or not.
    Out here on the best (west) coast, I have chopped the leaves away with no problems. But as I say, I don't know if this is a good idea if you have the beetles in your area!
    Happy Gardening! Nancy

• Carole Westgaard
    Original Author
    10 years ago